Jump to content


Photo

Brake Light Switch


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 fonty

fonty

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 06:27 PM

my brake lights dont work, after checking fuses and bulbs i assume that it is the brake light swich next to the brake pedal
does anyone know how to get to it and change it?
thanks in advance

my brake lights dont work, after checking fuses and bulbs i assume that it is the brake light swich next to the brake pedal
does anyone know how to get to it and change it?
thanks in advance

my car model is 1996 ghia 2 litre

#2 NikpV

NikpV

    Technical Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 4692 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 06:42 PM

have a look in the faq (22 from bottom) click on the faq link in my signature - and while you aret it put your car details in your signature :D

#3 Jimbo73

Jimbo73

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 89 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 08:47 PM

If its just sticking try WD40 on it, this happened to mine.

May save you a stiff neck

#4 fonty

fonty

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 12 December 2006 - 11:05 AM

If its just sticking try WD40 on it, this happened to mine.

May save you a stiff neck

cheers mate it was sticking

#5 AVSDOYLE

AVSDOYLE

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 03 March 2007 - 04:14 PM

If its just sticking try WD40 on it, this happened to mine.

May save you a stiff neck


And thanks again - brake light warning on dashboard. Check bulbs and fuses. No joy so I tried the Forum. A few squirts of WD40 and all seems OK. :wub:

#6 richyrich

richyrich

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 06 March 2007 - 05:18 PM

my brake lights dont work, after checking fuses and bulbs i assume that it is the brake light swich next to the brake pedal
does anyone know how to get to it and change it?
thanks in advance


my brake lights dont work, after checking fuses and bulbs i assume that it is the brake light swich next to the brake pedal
does anyone know how to get to it and change it?
thanks in advance

my car model is 1996 ghia 2 litre



#7 bigdaddy

bigdaddy

    Super advanced Member

  • Moderator
  • 1066 posts

Posted 06 March 2007 - 07:11 PM

fonty, even if the wd40 works, its a good idea to replace the brake switch, £7ish from GSF, 10 min job, saves future problems

#8 Guest_b_sharp_*

Guest_b_sharp_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 March 2007 - 10:17 AM

fonty, even if the wd40 works, its a good idea to replace the brake switch, £7ish from GSF, 10 min job, saves future problems


i have the same problem - bought a switch - you're right on the price. can see the switch, but how the heck d'you get to it ??

#9 NikpV

NikpV

    Technical Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 4692 posts

Posted 07 March 2007 - 11:10 AM

have a look Here

Sorry wolfie its another faq ;)

#10 mrmadcats

mrmadcats

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 13 September 2008 - 05:17 PM

have a look Here

Sorry wolfie its another faq :wacko:



dunno if I should start a new thread, suppose I'll do that too...
but my 2001 Galaxy is getting stuck in Park; where exactly is this switch I should tey to oil?
cheers!

#11 NikpV

NikpV

    Technical Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 4692 posts

Posted 13 September 2008 - 05:52 PM

have a look Here

Sorry wolfie its another faq :wacko:



dunno if I should start a new thread, suppose I'll do that too...
but my 2001 Galaxy is getting stuck in Park; where exactly is this switch I should tey to oil?
cheers!


follow brake pedal upwards

#12 mrmadcats

mrmadcats

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 13 September 2008 - 06:41 PM

I'm sorry to sound stupid, but I don't see the switch!
Do I have to remove anything?
How far up is the switch. and what does it look like, colour and size, for instance?

cheers

#13 projektzwo786

projektzwo786

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 15 September 2008 - 11:36 AM

i wonder if there is a tutorial on here how to remove the switch
im new to the forum so still learning my way round it

#14 syedorf

syedorf

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:17 PM

my mk1 carries 2 switches i replaced both but had to remove the lower panel as i couldnt see the other 1 1 is blue 1 is black

#15 Beyond Help?

Beyond Help?

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 235 posts

Posted 18 September 2008 - 09:52 AM

i wonder if there is a tutorial on here how to remove the switch
im new to the forum so still learning my way round it

http://www.fordgalax...amp;#entry63453