Jump to content


Auto Gearbox Problems


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_vinny2984_*

Guest_vinny2984_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2004 - 08:40 PM

2.8v6 auto 1997
when the car is in drive but foot on brake and stationary, there's alot of vibration
from the box, but its worse sometimes than others

also, car has a very bad 2nd to 3rd gearchange, it comes out of 2nd and takes far to long to go into 3rd and when it does it goes in very hard with a sharp jolt.

occasionaly the car seems to hang in 1st too long, to the point where it would redline if i didnt ease of, and then it changes up

does anyone have any idea's , i'm assuming all these problems are linked

#2 Ivor_E_Tower

Ivor_E_Tower

    Ultimate Member

  • Moderator
  • 2606 posts

Posted 30 January 2004 - 10:29 PM

Have you checked the transmission fluid levels, both when hot and cold?
Ivor E drives: Galaxy Ghia 1.9 TDI manual, built Oct 2000 and first registered in Jan 2001; bought by me in May 2003; Scenic dTi; Nikon D5000, D80 and a Fuji S5 Pro, with a selection of lenses

#3 Guest_vinny2984_*

Guest_vinny2984_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2004 - 10:36 PM

i was led to believe that the transmission fluid is sealed for life and cannot be checked or topped up
please tell me if thats not right

#4 Ivor_E_Tower

Ivor_E_Tower

    Ultimate Member

  • Moderator
  • 2606 posts

Posted 30 January 2004 - 10:43 PM

I very much doubt that it's sealed for life. After it's been fitted to the engine on the production line, it has to be filled somehow.
Ivor E drives: Galaxy Ghia 1.9 TDI manual, built Oct 2000 and first registered in Jan 2001; bought by me in May 2003; Scenic dTi; Nikon D5000, D80 and a Fuji S5 Pro, with a selection of lenses

#5 Jim

Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

Posted 02 February 2004 - 09:55 AM

I have a very occasional problem with gear changes too. Usually 2nd --> 3rd, sometimes can take a second or two to change and when it does it's with a bit of a thump? OK the vast majority of the time.

Do I have a problem?

#6 seatkid

seatkid

    Eternally ultimate Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4976 posts

Posted 02 February 2004 - 10:54 AM

Sealed for life. There is no dipstick, it can be checked but its a workshop job involving removing a test plug from under the box.

I'm no expert on auto boxes but it could be:

The Transaxle Electronic Control System or a sensor is faulty (Throttle position (TP) sensor, turbine shaft speed (TSS) sensor, vehicle speed sensor (VSS), intermediate shaft speed sensor or transmission fluid temperature sensor.) A check on the diagnostics should show this up. The TECS operates in a "fail" mode if a sensor input is faulty.

Possibly could be an engine problem as the box requests a torque down signal to the engine PCM during changes. Again a job for diagnostics.

or low oil (did it leak?)

or the clutch(es) may be worn.

or solenoids sticking

or its completely knacked.
I used to think........but now...I just stare.....

#7 Jim

Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

Posted 02 February 2004 - 05:48 PM

Looks like a phone call to the dealer is required. Thanks seatkid - you have me suitably concerned - well at least I still have just under 35 months of my 36 month warranty left to run!

#8 Dally

Dally

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 373 posts

Posted 02 February 2004 - 06:13 PM

Jim

Don't waste time - get your car booked in now.

I had various problems with my autobox. After numerous attempts and changing solenoids and reprogramming autobox ecu, the problems were finally sorted with a new box. The total cost was near 3 grand - so don't waste time.

I still have the odd hickup here and there such as holding onto a gear too long.

I sometimes think this is a result of using too many electronics. The box is supposed to be very intelligent and gauge your driving characteristics and change accordingly - this works fairly well but does give the odd hickup but I tend to slip it into tiptronic, change up and then put it back in drive.
If a million people believe in a foolish thing, it is still a foolish thing.

#9 Jim

Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

Posted 06 February 2004 - 09:26 PM

Car is booked in with dealer on Tuesday and have been having difficulty trying to recreate my problem - until tonight.

I have been having a couple of problems in the last couple of weeks - all intermittent.

1. Temperature gauge (sensor) not working/giving false readings.

2. Engine occasionally over revving when started (1-2 seconds).

3. Engine idling too fast (1200 rpm)

4. Auto gearbox changes not smooth

My wife usually drives the car, but I was lucky enough to have it today. On the way home I again noticed the temp gauge moving between 50 --> 90 -- 50, as it has been doing. I stopped at a shop for 10 minutes and upon restarted the vehicle, I got the over revving. The temp gauge was at 50 and stayed constantly there, and whilst driving, the gears were mischanging and idling speed was too high.

Once the temp gauge started responding again, (allbeit still not working 100%) the problems went away.

Could problems 2,3,4 all be being caused by problem 1. The dodgy temp sensor is giving bad info and causing the rest of the electronics to screw up? Seems too much of a coincidence.

#10 seatkid

seatkid

    Eternally ultimate Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4976 posts

Posted 06 February 2004 - 11:06 PM

Could problems 2,3,4 all be being caused by problem 1. The dodgy temp sensor is giving bad info and causing the rest of the electronics to screw up? Seems too much of a coincidence.

No Jim, rather you have a PCM (ECU) related problem. This explains your auto problems. The engine speed control is erratic and (incorrect) information is or is not being sent to the instrumentation pod (and probably the auto box controller). Could be a wiring fault (bad earth?) or faulty pcm (its not been underwater?). Diagnostics should show something.
I used to think........but now...I just stare.....

#11 Jim

Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

Posted 07 February 2004 - 10:52 AM

Hi Seatkid - thanks for the reply.

No it's not been under water - when at least not in the 6 weeks I've had it. What you are saying makes sense - I also have my doubts that the fuel gauge is reading correctly as it wavers a bit, although not as bad as the temp gauge.

I also consider the car to be a bit dangerous when this is happening, as I wouldn't like to be over taking and need the power, when the gearbox decides to play up!!

I will make sure I mention all faults on Tuesday and discuss what the cause might be with them - making sure they investigate what you say.

#12 mint

mint

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 10 February 2004 - 04:17 PM

:lol: JIM ,I had a very similar problem to yours recently. At one point the rev counter failed to work and then the whole car was stuck in first gear. Turned out to be the ECU for the gearbox! Four hundred pounds later with new ECU and problem solved. Jase.

#13 Guest_EVSS_*

Guest_EVSS_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 February 2004 - 08:32 PM

also check the loom to auto box ecu if the engine moves it can litteraly stretch the loom causing intermitent faults, got one in front of me now, looks perfect until you take insulation off then you see the broken wires. nothing to do with this company but if your in liecestershire/derbyshire/staffordshire area with a problem auto box related try D& K transmissions at enderby leicester, ask for Keith, they know there stuff and most of the local ford and other dealers send work to them. gary

#14 NikpV

NikpV

    Technical Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 4692 posts

Posted 10 February 2004 - 09:57 PM

Apparently a careless mechanic can cause the wiring problem by letting the gearbox 'Hang' from the wiring loom - according to mechanic who works at local main dealer!!! :lol:

Nik
(º.¸(¨*·.¸ ¸.*¨)¸·º)
<<.·°·.. NIK .·°·.>>
(¸·º(¸.·¨* *¨·.¸)º.¸)

Mk2 Galaxy 1.9Tdi 2001 Ghia
Posted Image Put your car details in your Signature * Got a problem - Posted Image <<< Click there (Mk1 & 2)

#15 Jim

Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

Posted 10 February 2004 - 10:16 PM

Was in today. Apparently I need a new "switch". Didn't get to speak to service manager to find out exactly what the problem was as I was in a rush.

Car booked in again for Friday morning as they have to order the new switch. They say they will need the car all Friday morning as there is quite a bit of work involved in fitting the switch.

Lets see what Friday brings.....

#16 Jim

Jim

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

Posted 15 February 2004 - 06:35 PM

Temperature sensor replaced on Friday and drove 35 miles home and everything seems fine. Temp gague is definitely reading correctly now and no sign of my other problems - especially gear changes.

I will keep my fingers crossed, but it looks like the problem(s) is fixed.